House Culture

There are 4 houses at Edward John Eyre High School, which staff and students are allocated to.
They are Wylie, Baxter, Flinders and Sturt and the executive members are leaders of these houses. By having these houses, it provides a foundation for relationships to be established between staff and students.

Students can gain points for their house through positive attendance, academic achievement, involvement in school community events, engagement in school sport, inter-house competitions and the Principal’s Award.

The House System is used to promote a positive school culture, encourage school connectedness and celebrate student success. A strategy used to promote and celebrate these achievements and successes are through whole-school assemblies, which occur twice a term.

In 2019 we are also introducing a staff House Team to monitor the progress of all students. The purpose of the House Team is to acknowledge and celebrate the success of students in the areas of Attendance, Achievement and Participation.

In addition, the House Team will proactively intervene to ensure that students are supported in meeting their individual education and learning needs.

Our 4 houses were named after prominent historical figures in our local region and surrounding areas.
Please follow the links below for more information on these figures.


Tash Rayson

Kristy Patterson

Sean Sheedy

Vicky Mudge

Winners for 2018

Wylie captains and vice-captains with Wylie House Leader Mr Sean Sheedy.